Skip to main content
'''Margaret Eleanor Atwood''', (born November 18, 1939) is a Canadian poet, novelist, literary critic, essayist, and environmentalism|environmental activist. She is a winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award and Prince of Asturias Awards|Prince of Asturias Award for Literature, has been shortlisted for the Booker Prize five times, winning once, and has been a finalist for the Governor General's Award several times, winning twice. In 2001, she was inducted into Canada's Walk of Fame. She is also a founder of the Writers' Trust of Canada, a non-profit literary organization that seeks to encourage Canada's writing community. Among innumerable contributions to Canadian literature, she was a founding trustee of the Griffin Poetry Prize. Atwood is also the inventor, and developer, of the LongPen and associated technologies that facilitate the remote robotic writing of...
Honorific suffix{{Post-nominals|country=CAN|CC|OOnt|FRSC|size=100%}}
Birth nameMargaret Eleanor Atwood
Imagesize| caption = Atwood at the 2015 Texas Book Festival
Birth date{{birth date and age|1939|11|18}}
Birth placeOttawa, Ontario, Canada
OccupationNovelist, poet, businesswoman, environmental activist
GenreHistorical fiction, speculative fiction, science fiction, dystopian fiction
Notableworks''The Handmaid's Tale'', ''Cat's Eye (novel)|Cat's Eye'', ''Alias Grace'', ''The Blind Assassin'', ''Oryx and Crake'', ''Surfacing (novel)|Surfacing''
share Share
favorite Favorite
up-solid down-solid